Mudchute

Today I was speaking at the "Big Tent Festival of Ideas" (alongside a cabinet minister and several MPs) at Mudchute Farm on the Isle of Dogs (London).  Apparently the name is derived from the mud dreged from Millwall Docks that used to be regularly dumped there.

It's a few years since I've been through this part of docklands, and the number of high rises that have shot up is phenomenal.  One Canada Square used to stand pretty much alone, but is now scarcely visible from some angles.  Some of the towers are still under construction, and there's something slightly reminiscent of a post-apocalyptic film about seeing incomplete skyscrapers from a farm field full of tents...  


It's a fairly random photo I've posted, but I like the juxtaposition of the suburban street and DLR station, Victorian brick chimney, and docklands skyscrapers.

Thanks to the event, I've got a different perspective - both in terms of ideas and the view of docklands!

I'm happy to be on the train back to my family now though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.