Allotment

In amongst hoovering and hanging out the washing, I took our morning cuppas up to the allotment where Tony was digging up potatoes and harvesting the last of the soft fruit (including some totally yummy blackberries), some green beans and a couple of sweetcorn for tea.

It's impossible to blip the whole allotment because it is large and on a steep slope which Tony has terraced during retirement.  I took photos from all angles but I'm going with this one because it captures some of the intentional wildness of the allotment, the purpose being to encourage natural pests to move in.

In the foreground is a bit of my mini meadow which was excess to requirements and so found it's way up to the allotment where it is doing very well.  You might just see the Braeburn apples which Tony is trying for me this year, as they are my favourite.  You can also see him climbing the back wall to take the net down from the cherry trees!!  Thank goodness he rebuilt it so I know it is secure.

Further along this level, which you can't see, is the pond which is full of tadpoles, water snails and water boatmen. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.