Giant Bracket

I haven't visited the National Trust's Osterley House and Park in Isleworth London for a number of years. I was expecting it to be busy as it was a fine day and the last weekend of the English school holidays, but it was actually idea: not to many people to spoil the peace but just enough for it not to be uncomfortable, as is sometime the case when there seem to be more guides than visitors!

After perusing the spendidly opulant Robert Adams designed rooms open on the ground floor of the house, I headed out into the gardens and wider estate.  At the furthest end of the circular route (1mile according to the guide - this is not a big country estate!) I found what must be one of the largest bracket fungus I've seen.  Further research indicates that it is probably a Rigidoporus Ulmarius, which grows to up to 50cm (this was well on the way) and is becoming rarer in the UK as it normally inhabits Elms, which were devastated by Dutch Elm disease in the 1960s.  I didn't pay much photographic attention to the tree, but from what I can see in the images, it is probably a rare surviver of an Elm, possibly an English Elm  - I certainly couldn't find anything else which matched the fallen leaves and bark.

The extra shows a close up of the top of the bracket with an interesting pattern: I can see birds standing on a wall, or perhaps 2 people about to kiss. What can you see?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.