A Great Read

Just finished reading this tome of a book.

It’s the latest in the Shardlake series from CJ Sansom. Ooh I do love a Sansom book to immerse myself into. Probably my favourite author.

He’s a historian who researches his subject matter and produces historically set novels, this series being in Tudor times.
You can almost see the sights and smell the odours of what was a tough life for ordinary folk. Times were brutal and I’m so glad I live now and not in the 16th century. Makes the current fuss about brexit look a bit lame in comparison.

This book is set in Norwich in 1549.
Think I’ve persuaded our youngest to read it having just graduated in history at UEA there. She’ll understand the geography of the city more than I did. There is still an area of Norwich called Tombland where the castle and cathedral are situated.

At 801 pages (plus another 60 or so of historical notes) it’s a big read but I loved it. Sansom writes great page turners.

It’s literally so big that I propped the book on a cushion to read it more comfortably.

Looking forward to the next one but I guess that’ll be a long way off yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.