Karen - An apple a day

I bought this small stone apple when we were at the Linville Caverns up in the mountains. I just fell in love with the colours and all the variations in it.

In the extras is my book cover for the day. My parents gave me this book and its sequel when I was about 10.

It is about a girl born with cerebral palsy in the 1950s and her parents being told to put her in an institution and forget about her. They refuse.

They fight to get Karen the care and therapy she needs but most in the medical field really don’t know what to do.

Life is far from perfect but this family fights as a team and Karen beats the odds and becomes a contributing member of the community.

A great story of dealing with what life throws at you and making the best of it and how working together as family and friends makes all the difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.