I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Milky Way

I have wanted to shoot the Milky Way for a long time. The conditions were right the last few nights, but I was unable to stay up or get up to get the job done.

Last night I went to bed dressed for success. I woke up around 11:00pm. The golf cart was packed with my gear, so I just tiptoed out the door without disturbing Tony and Bunker.

I learned a lot and will have to try it the next new moon. The optimal time for here is February thru September, so I might have one more shot at it the end of the month.

I am grateful I didn't have to venture far to get this shot. 

I did encounter a grasshopper that was intrigued with the light from my camera. Quite a shock when I shined the flashlight to see the results. I tried to get a shot with my phone, but it didn't want to be a blip star.

It was fun to watch the bats this morning before the sun came up. They were busy clearing the air of bugs. (this was after going back to bed when I was done with my photo shoot) I think a nap might be in order today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.