Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Double Vision

This afternoon I was surprised to see a Cormorant swimming down the little pond.  I was searching for a little Green Heron that has been playing games with me. Clearly, the Cormorant was very aware that I was standing beside the water but it never attempted to fly away. 

Mystery solved when another photographer saw me taking photos and told me that he had been surprised to see it the previous day.  When he got home and uploaded his images, he discovered the reason - a broken wing  :(   For the moment, there is enough in the little pond to sustain it for a bit but with winter approaching, the future looks rather dim for this one. How sad... I am hoping that the injury is not as severe as thought and it will heal in time to migrate south.

I also had the pleasure of watching a Kestrel and a Kingfisher having 'words' over the marsh. Quite honestly, the Kingfisher was the only voice I heard  ; )  I did get a grainy photo of the Kestrel holding a dragonfly.  Nature amazes me so much....

Thank you for all the kind words regarding my street scene with the man and his very happy pooch!  : ))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.