Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Hot Seat

83ºF.  Cooler.  However I forgot to cover the car seat and it had been parked for a couple of hours when we returned from lunch, hubby helping me create a makeshift burn-free cushion out of Pottery Barn catalogs and a backpack so I could get in!

Little did we know when we got in the car this morning (extra of hubby finding his car keys) to head out to lunch that we'd be having a hair-raising trip.  We were headed north on the 280 when I noticed a tiny black dog galloping along the hard shoulder of the freeway!!  Argh!  I reached for my phone to call 911 while saying to hubby: little dog, little dog running on freeway!  Still fumbling with my phone we saw CHP up ahead so we pulled onto the shoulder and we noticed there was an SUV up ahead and a freaked-out looking guy.  I shouted out the window: Are you looking for a dog?!!  CHP came over, yes, they were searching for a dog so I told them what I'd seen and the direction it was headed and wished them all the luck in reuniting with the dog.  That little dog was running as fast as his teensy paws could carry him, I just only hope there was a happy ending and the little dog stayed away from the roaring cars and went into the trees. 

We pulled safely back onto the freeway, decided to take the Millbrae exit and figure out what we were doing for lunch but were faced with a driver coming UP the off-ramp.  Argh!!  Hubby leant on the horn and we both yelled STOP STOP STOP (me gesticulating) the driver's perplexed face getting closer.  He swerves around us finally realizing his mistake, u-turned on the off-ramp blocking the other cars coming down but THANKFULLY not reaching the freeway into the on-coming stream.

We had lunch, distractedly. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.