AForeignCorner

By AForeignCorner

Garden seat

This used to be a beautiful tree outside my kitchen window until superstorm Sandy pushed it onto my roof and we had to cut it down. I looked for it today as a season check to see if there were any signs of budding or leftover berries and of course realized it wasn't there anymore. I'm sure the squirrels and woodpecker who frequented it miss it more than I do.

The resulting seat is courtesy of our friend and neighbour who is not a newcomer to woodwork. He helped us out a lot in the days after. It's actually quite comfy and has excellent lumbar support. Its location is not ideal for an English Garden but come Spring we will see what we can do. Change is not always a bad thing. Sometimes we have to look past the trees for the wood. And it will make a nice spot to conduct one of my resolutions - to take a few moments each day to meditate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.