South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Old memento

This Welsh love spoon was bought as a present for my parents when I went on holiday with five other unmarrieds who were all in their twenties. My husband found it today at Dad’s house, when he was clearing up after the gas man had visited to put new piping in and Dad said he no longer wanted it.

On the holiday in 1979 the six of us packed into a small two bedroom cottage in a village near Cardigan. One of the six was my now husband who was increasingly drawn towards me during the holiday (he had a long distance girlfriend in the U.S. at the time). Another pair on the holiday were married a year later having decided they wanted to date during the time we were away. I had to wait a bit longer until the situation in the U.S. was sorted out, but we were still married within two years. The spoon is rather chipped and tatty, but I’m keeping it for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.