CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Motoring through fields of Cotswold sunflowers

I visited the farm shop near Bisley and saw their crop of sunflowers in a field beside the road top Birdlip. They have been growing them for some years to sell the flowers heads in their shop. I thought I'd take a few pictures for my ongoing record of life at the farm throughout the seasons.

Having walked along the edge of the rows of sunflowers, delighting in the mass of bees enjoying their feed, I walked back to the road. I looked up when I heard the sound of an old style sports car's engine and spotted this red 'motor', possibly a 1950s MG.

I raised my camera and snapped this couple enjoying the open-top motoring lifestyle of former times. My sister had a 1930s MG J2 and she allowed me to drive it in my teens. When you pressed the foot pedals if you looked down there was nothing but the road rushing past behind them. Well not that fast. But it was exciting for a young driver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.