Girl Guide Association Shop (Ex)

The Birmingham Sculpture Hunt today took us to the far end of Corporation Street down by Aston University and the wonderful Victorian extravagances of the Queen Victoria Law Courts and the Children's Hospital.  And then there is the abandoned Methodist Central Hall, the old main Police Station and the still operational Fire Station. But the building that caught my eye and brought back memories was this one.  I must have been to this shop many times in my youth.  I know my Brownie Uniform came from here (1962?), then my guide uniform - I was so disappointed to have to have the new uniform (1966?)...  and then my guider's blouse and hat much later. This corner shop was always the Girl Guide Association shop.  It's quite a walk down Corporation St to Aston.  I can't remember whether we went in the car.  I suspect we went on the Quinton 9 Corporation bus and then walked down from Rackhams store where the bus used to stop before all the pedestrianisation.  Then we probably went to Rackham's for lunch where I probably had Beans on toast with an extra bread roll and a glass of milk.  I don't know what Mom would have had.  Fish and chips maybe.  Good memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.