Tiny Tuesday : : What isThis?

I missed the shot of the week at Spring Lake this morning because I didn't have my camera ready. Since I didn't get the picture, I will try to describe it in less than a thousand words.

A man and his dog were approaching us. The dog was a very large white bulldog with a black spot around one eye resembling a pirate patch. The man was a burly fellow with a face that combined the features of his dog and those of of J. Edgar Hoover. My greeting failed to elicit as much as a glance from either man or dog, but the man was wearing a sweatshirt that said: GRUMPY. Rarely have I seen such an appropriately dressed person. Accessorized with a dog to match.

Failing to find anything very tiny at Spring Lake, I trolled around the garden in search of something. I really didn't want to have to to settle for a common bee, even though there were lots of them wallowing around in the centers of the fading dahlias gathering pollen, but this one was too unusual looking to pass up. I'm not really sure it's a bee at all but it does have lots of pollen on its legs.

The county came today with their equipment and two flaggers with cones and signs to chip a massive pile of branches trimmed from the neighbors' trees.* They reduced it to a fairly small pile of mangled wood, but I wouldn't exactly call it mulch. Their truck had a rather grandiose seal on the side that said 'Sonoma County Fire Prevention and Hazmat Division'. By the time I gathered my camera and walked down the driveway, they were just finishing up but I put pictures in extras.

Jorge came today to join OilMan in the pursuit of rodents. I think he was filling their holes with rocks and concrete. I'm not sure what is supposed to keep them from simply tunneling somewhere else....

Thanks to JDO for hosting this month. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.