Rodney's Pillar, Breidden Hill

I have called this hill on the Shropshire/Wales border Criggion for years but it seems I am wrong as that is the name of the village at its base. I did also know it as Breidden Hill and also as Rodney's Pillar but that refers to this tower. Mind you I must confess I have called it Rodney's todger for about 25 years myself ever since I was about 16 and that was my level of humour (it hasn't really developed much to be honest).

The pillar was built by the gentlemen of Montgomeryshire who supplied oak wood from the area and shipped it down the River Severn to Bristol where Admiral Rodney's naval fleet was built. It was erected in 1782 to commemorate the defeat of a French fleet in the West Indies , (borrowed from Wikipedia).

A lovely walk this and one that can be taken even if the ground has been sodden as most of the 5 miles is walked on good quality tracks.

Larger todger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.