wlmjr

By wlmjr

I can’t smell a damn thing.

Unfortunately, I’d be hard-pressed to smell my way out of danger. Fires, gas leaks, abrasive toxic chemicals, smoldering electric wires, dangerously high levels of chlorine in the public pool... nope! I can’t smell a damn thing.

Years of religiously smoking menthol cigarettes near eliminated my sense of smell altogether. I’ve since quit... many seasons ago! My diminished nasal system however constantly presents itself as an inconvenience. My daughter (whose interpretive illustration’s pictured here) depicts me without the tip of my nose - showcasing her frustration vividly with my inability to smell much of the world’s aromatic pleasures she cares to share with me. Stop to smell the roses? Not so much... at least not literally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.