gennepher

By gennepher

Wind at sunset...

...it has been horrendously windy this afternoon. I checked the met office wind, and it was 46 knots for wind gusts (whatever that speed is) late afternoon. My garden was having a serious battle with itself. When I took this photo, it had gone down to 26 knots. A few hours later 10pm the app says we are having wind gusts of 44 knots.

I was trying to get the feeling of wind in this photo. But not sure I succeeded.

However, when I got to my bungalow (I had retreated to the potting shed late afternoon just before the wind was building up), it was OMG when I looked at my neighbour's roof.

He has had dodgy cowboy workmen replacing his simple bungalow roof. This is the third week now. Today, for some reason, the workmen took apart the side of the roof next to me which they had completed. They took the new tiles off, they ripped off the wooden battening and threw it in the skip, and ripped off the roofing felt and put it in the skip.

Then, they replaced the roofing felt with a wider one than before. Then they replaced the wooden battening (the previous wooden battening which they put on, had been green) with a pale wood colour battening. Again they did not measure, but just hammered the battening on freestyle. Then, in literally a very short time, they had replaced the new tiles, just slotted them together, and again they have not hammered any nails at all in any tile, but they did glue down the first row of tiles down...

The ridge/coping tiles, they just placed on the ridge without cementing any in. So, there is a whole row of ridge/coping tiles loose, not fixed on in any way.

Why did I say OMG? Nearly all the ridge/coping tiles have blown off in the very severe gusts of wind we have had this late afternoon.

My first thought was they've blown on to his conservatory glass roof on the other side. My second thought was I hope his grandchildren are not in there. My third thought was...my car...

So I went out to the front. I could see my car was okay. I could see their cars had gone and I realised the windows were locked shut, so they were out. I went round to the other side, and the ridge/coping tiles have been blown on the roof, and the glass conservatory roof, which is now broken....

I hope the wind does not change direction because there are a couple of the ridge/coping tiles still on the ridge....I am not going to sleep tonight. I keep checking the wind gusts and wind direction...

UPDATE: at 4am, Thursday morning.
I am tired. Couldn’t sleep. It’s 4 am. I have been checking the wind gusts all night. They are currently at 35 knots. The wind is still in the same direction, good for me, and my property and my car.

But on Saturday, according to the app, the wind gusts are blowing from his roof towards my property and car.

He and his family have not come back yet from leaving last night. None of their cars are back or parked in the road. Which indicates to me he knew about those loose roof ridge/coping tiles coming off in the wind gusts. I suppose you would if they crashed through your glass conservatory roof...

Any of you that have read my troubles with him and the dodgy workmen he employs using dodgy and dangerous materials, especially with the imprinted driveway (inflammable liquid was used on it, to seal it presumably, which went down the public drains, and yes I did report that to the council at the time), and he has been verbally abusive to me. So therefore you will understand my distress at him employing yet more dodgy workmen.

I felt physically sick to the pit of my stomach last night when I realised what was happening to those loose ridge tiles, which blew off in the wind gusts, the workmen just placed on the roof yesterday without fixing in anyway at all.

In addition he has placed others at risk by leaving it and leaving his property last night. There is a main bus route on the side of his property where the ridge tiles have been falling, so it is right next to a main road and a bus stop.

I am angry and I have plenty to say to him. But if he is not back here by 8 am I am notifying the council there is a dangerous property, with loose ridge tiles that have been blowing off the roof, right next to a bus stop.

FURTHER UPDATE:
Just been out. It’s 6:15am. Still two ridge tiles remaining backed up on to each other. App still tells me wind gusts are 35 knots. Taken photo of bus stop proximity and his ridge/coping tiles. He still hasn’t returned. Sent it by email to council making it very clear in the subject line, of danger.

I won’t be speaking to my neighbour now, he will only verbally abuse me. I am not going to allow myself to be upset. He is not back yet.
I’ve done my duty. Now to get on with my day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.