Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Throwback Thursday.......

......now admittedly it's not the actual job ad I answered/applied for (I would have been in the previous years intake and already in post in Newcastle in 1973, or maybe 'on loan' to the National Gazetteer Pilot Study pounding the streets armed with maps/printouts of Local Authority rating lists, coding up and then digitising the results.....none of which had been covered in training of course, that had been more about how to 'hand-letter' and use a ruling pen ;-) ) but the ad content, wages and conditions are well nigh identical as far as I remember.....and can I just say that breaking the £1000pa wage barrier made me feel that I was truly rich ;-) 


(You've probably guessed that in an effort to avoid TOO much politics today I've spent some time delving into the past via my trusty British Newspaper Archive subscription, it's worth every penny .....even if it's about 10% of what I earned a year back in the day;-) )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.