SimonC

By SimonC

Five Wells Chambered Tomb

Came across this today quite by accident, I was aware of its existence but not its location. This is apparently the highest megalithic tomb situated at 1400 ft above sea level.

I am inquisitive by nature, as a child used to deliberately try and get lost to explore new places so I guess not much changed when I saw a track I hadn't been up before and saw the sign posts to this.

The experience was quite like yesterdays as its very wind blown and high above the dales with panoramic views but somehow I liked the sky being the focal point for this. Homage to the Sky Gods :)

The site comprises two chambers which had seventeen skeletons excavated in the 1800's, the people of the neolithic period used to leave the dead outside the area to be picked away by the birds and wind then the living would place certain bones within the chamber. three whole skeletons were found within it so those three were maybe quite popular!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.