Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Hever Castle

The italianate gardens,and classical statuary at Hever Castle are magnificent.

Hever was the home of Anne Boleyn, the second wife of Henry V111 , who was beheaded on his instructions.

The gardens were landscaped and the statuary brought over from Italy at the beginning of the 20th century by William Waldorf Astor who then owned Hever.

Today there,was a craft and design fair with artisans displaying their art and craft on the lawns and in marquees. All the designers, artists and craftmakers were showcasing their own work which was very original and some very beautiful pieces.

Unfortunately I tired very quickly and we did not spend as long in the gardens as intended. I have spent the afternoon resting but was unable to get to sleep. It's only the second day after chemo so I think I am exoecting too much from myself.

My extra is looking across at Hever Castle through the wild flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.