Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Special Moments and Not So Special

A day that started off very chilly turned very warm, very fast!  Loved it!!  Everyone seemed to be in good spirits at work - staff and students alike. After work, I took a quick walk to enjoy the fine weather even further.  I was delighted to see three raccoons come out of the bush to say hello. One grabbed a peanut that must have been dropped by someone for a squirrel or chipmunk.  One came over to check out my camera and the other stayed back watching.  So cute.

This is the moment that the mother spotted a couple further down the path who were sitting on little camping chairs. I had assumed that they were sitting feeding the wildlife peanuts and seeds.  Nope. To my dismay, they were sitting, hoping to see the raccoons so that they could feed them....Arrowroot cookies :(

Oddly enough, they were not at all concerned that I was taking their photos feeding the raccoon.  I did strike up a conversation with the woman about how it saddened me to see people feeding the raccoon as they begin to depend on humans for food, are ill equipped to deal with harsh winters, and if they accidentally bite someone, they get exterminated.  The woman's response was, "Oh I read in the paper about a boy being bitten.  That was terrible!"  And....continued to feed one raccoon cookies.  Frustrating.

In extras, I have included the last photo I took of the woman feeding the young raccoon.  This was at exactly the moment that she told me she had read the story in the paper...

I would report the couple, however, the authorities are very short staffed so the likelihood of them responding immediately and catching the couple in the act is very unlikely. In the past, what they have done is 'removed' the raccoons instead and posted new signs.

People annoy me some days....

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.