Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Grasshopper Camo

Tonight, I was half-heartedly getting ready to go to an outdoor concert we had both been looking forward to. I had my left shoe on when Annie came in for the final word, and it turned out that we both were happy to stay home. I looked at my right shoe as I was removing the left and there was a grasshopper sitting on the ankle collar of the shoe I had been about to put on!
Yes, ON my shoe, IN the bathroom, a good thirty feet from the nearest door!
So, I carefully scooped Grasshopper into my closed hand and went to the front porch, expecting him to immediately hop free, but NO!
He sat there on my hand.
"What do you think, I'm your mama?", I asked but there was no reply.
He swivelled his head around back and forth, then reached up with his left front leg and stroked his forehead. He wiggled a bit as if to settle into his new digs on my hand!
So I went down the steps and carefully laid in the grass with my hand containing Grasshopper close to what I thought was some especially tasty-looking grass.
Grasshopper looked around again swiveling as if to test his neck flexibility,then with his right front leg he nonchalontly stroked each of his antennae.
Slowly, he reached out to a blade of grass and appeared to chew on it a bit. Then he moved onto the blades of grass to explore further, still anchored to my hand with his right hind leg.
Finally, he stepped off my hand and commited to walking slowly through the grass to a grey twig just beyond.
On the twig he turned parallel to its length and because of his markings almost toally disappeared before my very eyes.
I scrambled into the house to get my camera while Grashopper patiently waited for his photo-op.
And there you have it!
That's my story for today, and I'm sticking to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.