Co. Cavan, tributary (source?) of the River Erne

River in spate, remains of an old mill visible.

P.S.  A brief discourse on the Irish language 

Twenty years ago I was in a B&B in Southern Ireland named 
Tír-na-nÓg.  
My curiosity resulted in being given a translation of it as "The land of the fairies."  Only later I discovered that its literal meaning is rather different.  

Close to the river in this photo is a house named:  
Glor nó hAbhann
Fortunately my hosts are Irish and possess an Irish dictionary, which I borrowed and translated literally:
Sound of Water

I now have to find out how to pronounce it !!!  (Tír-na-nÓg  I can pronounce more or less perfectly.)  The trick is simply to work out which consonants and vowels not to pronounce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.