Geocache

I started my day by finding one geocache already in the morning, because I had a long list of things to take for the rest of the day. Another reason was that I have set myself two goals. One is to have "one puzzle cache find" in everyday in the annual calendar and the second is to have "two cache finds" per day in the same time sequence. There are plenty of days to fill in puzzle calendar and only few ones left in "two finds per day" calendar. Therefore I drove to the countryside where was the end point of one puzzle cache I have resolved earlier.

Location is called Lappeennapa (Pole of Lappee). It's an very old small swamp pond, but now become forested so well that it's possible to walk on it. Place has some historical background back to 1500 century , when tha area has been the centre of Lappeenranta. There have been found lots of objects and big graveyard with about thousand graves and lots of bones. However, there are not much information found on investgations, but some assumptions of course. Some old maps and documents has been found during decades and some of those are available in web and local museum as well.

This is one very interesting feature in geocaching, where one can learn of local history. For example this puzzle cache required to find coordinates of 7 church buildings of Lappee Church. Couple of those are not existing anymore, so I had to dig some archives first to find location. All in all it took some hours of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.