Mr Smith

By MrSmith

Sober?

Sober and Kay's Bar aren't terms that are normally associated.

In fact I was only popping in for a sharpener with the added benefit of being given a Cadbury's Creme Egg as the first customer of the day. A Creme Egg doesn't sit naturally with a pint of Deuchars so it was secreted away in the emergency ration section of my man bag.

I was actually headed for an important conference meeting in The Cumberland Bar which was so quiet, apart from the the conference attendees, that we witnessed the annual cleaning of the rare crystal whisky decanters they keep behind the bar. I was even allowed to give one a loving dusting with a chamois leather.

A few hours later I gate crashed the private gardens in Queen Street which are truly a blippers haven but I'd climbed the railings to answer the call of nature so I couldn't dally. On emerging from the bushes however I found myself face to face with the Chairman of the Gardens Trust and his Black Labrador, out for an evening stroll so we chewed the fat, I told him I used to be a resident member and he let me off gate crashing and let me take some photos of the old Bomb shelters before unlocking the gate and kicking me out to get my bus.

A busy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.