BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

the god of small things

I get in touch with the god of small things.
I don’t pray as such but I say
‘Hey, god of small things,
is it ok if I lounge around today.
I’m content to let the world whizz by,
let it get on with its business
while I drink some tea
and play my new guitar –
a Yamaha MSG Standard
if you’re interested in minor details
(I know you are).
I’ll probably glance out the window at the sea
but won’t go down to it.
A slow selfish day is my desire.
Oh, and is it also ok
if I turn the volume up a bit.
I won’t disturb the neighbours too long.’


‘Sure kid,’ says the god of small things.
‘That would be cool.
And don’t worry about the neighbours.
I’ll have a word.
I can send them away if you like.
Today is your day. Enjoy.’



Small Hours

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.