Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Wyrley Wander

I've no idea who has put this sign up, especially as there is no public footpath in this area.  Still, I did take a wander down the track in the direction it was pointing as a large group of red deer were in the field adjacent.  As ever they had unsurpassed sensory acuity and I was soon being stared at from across 300 metres of harvested field.  Added to that there was thick cloud above and any chance of even a half decent image of the stags, now regaled in their full antlers ready for the rut, was dashed.  They soon high tailed it into the woods to the rear of the field.

The sign had however piqued my interest, so I continued to follow the distinct path around the field to the brook that ran behind it.  Here I found a further path running into the land between the village and the A5.  I also came across the deer again.  The stags antlers have now lost their furry covering and the sharpness of the points and lighter colour attest to their preparations for the rutting season ahead.  I've never previously found the area where the rut takes place, but given what I've found today< I might check this area out again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.