Sunbathing Cormorant & RIP Lucy

I met up with a friend I used to work with, for a catch up, at her new home in Rudyard.

We had a wander down the length of one side of Rudyard Lake. It was a beautiful afternoon. The writer Rudyard Kipling was named after the area, as his parents met and courted here.

I had left the little back cat asleep at home this morning. She had refused food and seemed very sluggish. By the time I got home she had deteriorated further. I fetched her owners and they took her to the vets. I said my goodbyes before that, but hoping I would see her again soon. it wasn't to be.

Unfortunately, she had both bowel and kidney problems. She was around 15 or 16 years old and her owners, our neighbours, felt it was kinder to let her go, rather than put her through any intrusive tests or procedures which may not have resulted in any possible treatment.

Although she wasn't our cat, she'd spent most of days with us for the last 8 years, ever since they had a dog next door. Only returning home for food or when she couldn't get into our house!

We were really upset as we'd grown to love her, enjoy her company, and cheeky ways of getting her own way. The house felt so empty without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.