Don't Give Up

The weather broke and the rains have begun, but soccer moms never give up.

At four and still in pre-school, Evan is the youngest on his team. They play four to a team, no positions, no goalie, just trying to get the ball in the goal. Evan's team has only had two practice sessions and was uncertain which goal was theirs, but all were in good spirits. One of Evan's mates actually made a goal near the end of the hour, but the other team had 25 or more goals, I lost count. I was inspired by the coach, a marvel of patience and encouragement. In the Extra, Coach is explaining to Evan that he should try to kick the ball any time he can get close to it, and Evan is listening attentively while one of his team mates is hiding his head in his shirt.

Evan confided in me as we were leaving the soccer field, "I told them we should call ourselves the Red Dragons. They voted to be the Aliens, but I think that's why we didn't win. Red Dragons always win."

This morning I was looking for a piece of music on Youtube and stumbled across a wonderful song by someone named Maggie Szabo, accompanied by the Trans Chorus of Los Angeles. (I didn't know there WAS a Trans Chorus, but I have fallen in love with them and have played and watched this song on repeat for hours today.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.