Misty Morning Magic in Quehanna

I awoke in my tent in the back-country of the Quehanna Wild Area. It was about 6:15 and the light hadn't broken yet. I could see that there was a fine mist out in the field. I slid out of my sleeping bag, changed into my hiking pants and my jacket, pulled on my boots, grabbed my camera, and headed out to watch the show.

The mist wasn't the only thing to see; for the ground was covered in spider webs, thousands of them. I walked down the hill and along the creek, and took many photos, getting my pants soaked in the process from the heavy dew. You may see one of my favorite photos above, and there is one more in the extras.

The light turned peach and then more yellow as the sun arrived. There were a few bugles from the elk around 7:15. By 8, the mist was entirely gone; the show is so ephemeral. But if you get up early, you get to see a real treat: the misty morning magic of the Quehanna Wild Area.

The soundtrack song is a favorite song about mornings. Only this one will do: Cat Stevens, with Morning Has Broken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.