misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Garden Path Fully Grown

This is the view of this side garden path more filled out since I first posted it on 29 August. The light blur "path" is actually a carpet remnant. It is usually an open path the that side of the yard. Not closed by the blooming Apple Mint plant taking full charge. It grows by underground runners -- probably overnight when I am asleep. It is taking over the lawn too. I really do not mind as long as the mower can keep it under control.
Of interest compared to late August is the blooming ornamental stand of grass which is over 6 feet tall now.
Were I to allow that part of the lawn grow without mowing it would be made up of this type of native grass. The first year I lived here I wanted to see what everything looked like in its "natural" unmoved state. I allowed the grass to grow until it looked like a field of these tall grasses. 
My new friends/neighbours came over one evening with their mowers and rakes to bring in the "hay." They assured me that the Village authorities would come and mow down the weeds and charge me a fine!
I left two of the big clumps that I have seen for sale as ornamental grasses at garden centers. Mine were free. 
I admit that this part of my garden is growing out of control. I love it and so do the bees, flies, and butterflies. Before the first snows fly a lot of pruning will happen!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.