lakes

I didn't take many photos today - too busy breaking my step record..over 32,000! 

In this photo you can see the place where I slept last night - Rannerdale Knotts, looking tiny under the looming bulk of Grassmoor, top right.

I woke up early after a night of vivid dreams. The stars had been amazing. I  walked down to Buttermere, ate some breakfast and crossed over to the opposite side of the valley to climb Red Pike, which you can see on the left (looking red). The path goes up through a wood and past Sour Milk Gill to Blueberry Tarn (in the middle of the photo), and up the side of Dodd (the lumpish hill behind the tarn). Once on top of Red Pike, most of the climbing is done, and there's a ridge to walk along with lovely views (like this one!).

At the end of it, I came down Scarth Gap and along the lake shore back to Buttermere, which was full of people enjoying a nice Sunday afternoon. I had a coffee in one of the cafes and then made my way home.

A short trip but very sweet :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.