yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Vienna Revisited

Another Backblip. I caught the early train to Vienna this morning to meet some Australian friends who had been on a European tour. I took them on one of my Dollykgray tours that my friends seem to like. We met at St Stephens Cathedral and my friends climbed up the tower to see the view over Vienna. We walked to my favourite Cafe Central for coffee and cake via Demel, the famous pastry shop and chocolaterie dating back to 1786. Demel is recommended in all the tourist info for cakes but I prefer Cafe Central which only dates back to 1876. The tourist books say to avoid Cafe Central as it is too touristy. The only thing touristy about it is the sometimes long queue of tourists as the cafe hasn't changed in many years. The selection of delicious and artistically decorated cakes is far superior to Demel. I have worked out that 10 am is a good time to visit which proved correct as we only had to wait a couple of minutes to be seated. The main attraction for me at Demel is the large glass window where you can watch the delicacies being prepared. Today they were doing an enormous wedding cake which this girl was covering the entire surface in silver leaf. Her colleague beside her was painting the figurines of the bride and groom. Another was covering the next tier of the cake with fondant.
Next stop was Hundertwasser House, an apartment block designed by Friedrich Hundertwasser. We decided to go to his gallery to see the  permanent exhibition before going to the Prater for a delicious crispy pork knuckle and a beer. 
I showed them around the Museum Quarter and the 2 enormous buildings, the Natural History Museum and the Art History Museum. The next stop was to see the Fernwärme, or incineration plant, next to Spittelau station. This plant turns waste into energy to provide a large part of Vienna with electricity and heating. The facade was redesigned and decorated by Hundertwasser after a fire in 1989. From here I farewelled my friends after another great day in Vienna and caught the train back home. 
The extra is Haas House which I love to photograph with its wonderful reflections of the old city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.