whaa

By whaa

Frog water

I picked up one of the many digital SLR mags in WHSmiths today ... and flicking through randomly, my attention was grabbed by an article re 50mm fixed lenses. Now i'm a very amateur photographer, but my Canon EF 50mm F1.8 MK II (I had to look that up btw!) was definitely one of the best £70 I ever spent. I vowed that I need to use it more for forthcoming blips.

So, what's with the postcard? Actually, it's one of a series my dear mother sent me, linking together shared passion for food and travel. On the reverse is a recipe:

AGUA DE SAPO (Ale)
Caribbean people used to drink this all the time.
They call it "agua de sapo." The latter translates
literally as "frog water." Don't worry, the
only weird thing about this homemade ginger ale
is the color.

4 cups of water
Small piece of fresh ginger
Juice of two limes
1/2 cup of malasses

Grate the ginger and boil it for about 5 minutes
in a cup of water with the molasses. When you
have a nice concentrated tea, add the rest of the
water and lime juice. Mix well and put in the
refrigerator for a couple of hours. Try some, and
you'll be a calypso singer in no time!


Definitely a drink to try in the summer! (Perhaps with an added alcoholic ingredient of my own choosing!) :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.