Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Hadlow Tower

My granddaughter ella and her mother took me to Hadlow College Garden Centre today. They have a lovely restaurant/coffee shop and I was treated to lunch.

There are beautiful award winning gardens landscaped by the horticultural students. It rained hard while we were eating and by the time if had stopped I was feeling lethargic and unable to walk any distance.

Back home I slept for over three hours. This chemo is taking its toll of me at the moment.

Hadlow Tower, also known as May's Folly, is Grade 1 listed, and built in the18thC, although the current building is not the original one. It is 175feet tall and has eight floors.

Its recent history was its purchase for £1 by the Vivat Trust who rented it out as holiday accommodation. I visited it with Ella a few years ago and it had been decorated and furnished beautifully in Stately Home style. There was a lift that took you from an exhibition centre on the ground floor to the top of the tower, where a spiral staircase led into the octagonal lantern.

The Vivat Trust collapsed in 2016 and the tower was sold to a private buyer for £425,000, which is a bargain but I guess it has lots of restrictive conditions.

It was recently on the market for £2 million but I cannot find any up to date information on the Tower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.