With Age Come Beauty

This young hummingbird is just starting to get a few of his bright magenta feathers.....when fully mature the Annas flash a large patch of magenta  on their necks. This little guy was resting on the very tip top of a large branch I had anchored to my deck railing; I had put it there just so the hummers might be tempted to rest where I could see them. It was still up quite high and the light was not good today.

Our weather has definitely changed; last night we had a small tornado touch down just a mile from our house. Our daughter called in a panic when she saw the forecast that showed it was headed directly toward our home. I took my computer and sat down on the floor of our interior windowless laundry room while my husband went outside to look for it. There was damage at a farm near us....but nothing terrible. Then today we had the most horrific downpour of rain this afternoon....I now understand the term "sheets of rain"......the sound of the rain pounding against the windows and roof was deafening. Lots of flooding in our area, but I think it will be short lived because the storm has past. 

Ellie is back with us .....she came over last night.....she is putting several words (we understand) together now and jabbering constantly.....I am sure she knows exactly what she is saying, but most of it is foreign to us.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.