Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Planting not praying

I spent the morning in the shop and on a house call before returning home to do some admin.  I got bogged down trying to check my forthcoming pension.  The logins I had received some years ago no longer worked and it took an hour of phoning different departments and long waits to be told that this access was obsolete.  I then spent another half hour going through elaborate online ID checks before I could access online pension information that informed me that despite 41 years of contributions I would not receive a full pension as the rules changed in 2016 (news to me). Previously only 30 years were necessary.  I could buy in some years but a phone call informed me that if I bought in some of the years on offer it would not increase my pension! I was told it was only worth buying in years after 2016.  I calculated it would cost me £1521 to increase my pension by £4.82 per week. Actuarially, it might be worth it but I am not sure I will take up the offer. There really should be an advanced qualification in navigating government departments online.  My experience today and at Citizens Advice confirms that many poorer or older people just can't manage it.
I was surprised on my walk this afternoon to see this man in the middle of a field presumably planting out when all such work is usually mechanised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.