blipblog

By blippychick

Sudetenland

Today we visited for the first time the farm my family used to own and where my dad, granddad, great granddad (going back 400 years) were born and lived.
70 years ago they were expelled, following the end of WWII, my grandmother died in the internment camp, my uncle lost on the battlefields at the age of 17 and my dad, granddad and extended families started a new life in Germany, split between east and west.
My dad did not accompany us to this trip as the memories remain too painful, even at the age of 90. We don’t know who lives there now but it was sad to see the state of the buildings, with little maintenance since they were forced to leave. I hope one day It will be renovated and provide a nice home for somebody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.