Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

I needed my armour today

Really bad experience from staff this afternoon at The Wallace Collection. 

After a look around I checked my bag out of the cloakroom to go for a cup of tea.

As I walked through the arch towards the tea room entrance a staff member called out "you can't bring that bag into the gallery!". I was surprised at how vocal he was but explained "I'm not going into the gallery, I'm going into the tearoom".

"You can't go in with that bag", he repeated more vociferously. 

"How am I going to pay for my tea if I don't have my bag?" I said, baffled by his lack of logic and adding "there's nothing to knock over here and I'm hardly in a fit state to go running around". (At this point it's worth mentioning I am wearing a leg brace and using a stick).

Him now getting really angry "take your purse out, go and check your bag in and come back!"

I'm now very tired, getting annoyed too and my leg is hurting. "No! I am going" I said... (and this is the big one.) He said "good!"

So I hobbled back into the lobby where 3 or so other members of staff asked me if I was OK. I said no and relayed the tale. They stood by and said nothing.

I left with an extremely bad taste in my mouth. At no point was I offered a seat, a glass of water or any sympathy inside.

I am boycotting the place from now on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.