Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Raspberry Jam

I made raspberry jam with the berries from the farmers market, delish.

The recipe (below) I used was from Mes Confitures by Christine Ferber, I've used this book a lot over the years. I've not had the mind space nor a kitchen I've liked enough to make anything like this since leaving Portland.  A good sign that I'm settling in to our new place.  :-)

Raspberry Jam

2 1/4 pounds (1kg) raspberries
3 3/4 cups (800 g) granulated sugar
Juice of 1 small lemon

Pick over the raspberries.  Omit rinsing them so that they will keep their fragrance.

In a preserving pan, combine the raspberries, sugar, and lemon juice.

Bring to a boil, stirring gently.  Continue cooking on high heat for 5 to 10 minutes, stirring and skimming carefully.  Return to a boil.  Check the set.  Put the jam into jars immediately and seal.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.