Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

View from my Bike

I rode 18 miles on my new ebike today.  Not too bad for an overweight, out of shape senior citizen!  I used to ride a road bike but the past few years my back, neck and shoulders have been very unhappy with the hunched over position, so much so that I quit riding.  I've been looking at ebikes for a long time and finally took the plunge today.

I don't think it could be any more different from my carbon fiber road bike that weighs about 20 pounds.  My new Blix Aveny weighs about 50 pounds and has an upright riding position.  It has four levels of pedal assist that make me feel a lot stronger than I am and it also has a throttle with a top speed of 20 miles per hour.  Here's a link to a short video about the bike if you're interested.

The size and weight will take some getting used to for sure, but I had a nice comfortable ride today and, believe me, the bike doesn't do all the work!   

I am grateful that I spotted this bike separate from the others on display in the bike shop. An older woman bought it last year and she only rode it twice and couldn't handle it so she took it back to the shop to sell on consignment.  It looks brand new.  I got it for $500 less than new and, since my transaction is with the owner instead of the bike shop, there was no tax.  The owner agreed to give me a 48 hour trial, so the bike shop is holding my check.  Another test ride tomorrow, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to keep it. :-)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.