East Usk lighthouse

Determined to make use of Sundays in 2013, we had an outing over the bridge into Wales and visited the RSPB Newport Wetlands. The mist hung heavy over the nature reserve but we had a great walk. It's like a Slimbridge without all the razzamatazz and it's free. Given that it's January and we're on our austerity budget, this was no bad thing.

It was constructed to make a site to replace those lost when the Cardiff Bay Barrage was constructed. This took me back a bit. Whilst at university in Cardiff I took part in a BBC Radio Wales Nature programme which invited questions from the audience. My question that day, some 20 years ago, whilst sat in a hall in the newly restored Swansea dockside, was about the impact of the Cardiff Bay Barrage. I was nervous, as I recall, and a heavily edited version of my question was transmitted minus ers, aahs and repetitions.

The highlight today was a spectacular murmuration of starlings. I would have made attempts to capture it but a) Son #1 had my DSLR and b) I had no long lens which I c) shared with Mrs RB who d) told me it was under her side of the bed and had been for some time! We watched them for some time. When they suddenly swoop the effect is stunning and the way they appear to become dense and scattered within seconds.

The lighthouse it is then. One of a pair either side of the entrance to the Usk. The other one is a guesthouse but this one has no other buildings attached. Built in 1893 and still working, possibly with a fresh bulb! I thought I should present it in black and white but it's been a grey sort of day and the gold of the reeds seemed appropriately cheerful and positive.

Back to work tomorrow, an exciting and busy term ahead. I am determined to enjoy it. Uganda in 5 weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.