Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Beware

A late evening walk down by the lake with my daughter.  I was so happy to have her along with me this evening. When walking through the wooded area, we could hear the chipmunks calling, "Alert! Danger!"  She had never heard it before so I was explaining that it is usually when a predator, like a raptor, is in the area, so the chipmunks basically warn each other.  At the end of the explanation, we were startled by this handsome hawk exploding out of the undergrowth and going up into this tree. It was quite dark, in shadow, so I did some manual adjustments, crossed my fingers, and hoped for the best.  This is what I got and when I got home I realized that it already had dinner  :(  Sad for the squirrel...happy for the hawk (I think a Cooper's?).

See extra for one little chipmunk in alert mode...so cute and very brave  : )

Friday tomorrow....thank goodness!!!  Hope yours is a good one  : ))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.