AMK49

By AMK49

Turning red !

Our friend P gave me 3 small tomato plants that she had grown from seed but never having grown tomatoes and not having a greenhouse I wasn’t sure if they would grow and ripen in the house.

They started off on the kitchen window sill but soon had to be repotted and moved into a box in front of the patio doors In our sun lounge with its big windows. At first I carried them outside if it was a nice day and inside at night but eventually they grew too tall and too heavy to do that. Lots of flowers developed and I was amazed at how quickly tomatoes started to grow.

As we prepared to go on holiday some of the tomatoes were a good size but still very green and friend P offered to come in and water them. We got back to find 2 red tomatoes which we have now eaten - they were delicious!

Mrs AMK tells me she is not sharing the house with tomato plants ever again but it has been fun for this year. !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.