tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Sub tegmine fagi

Seen today: a massive beech tree that I  reckoned must be around three centuries old. Its circumference, roughly measured with a piece of string, came to over 16 feet for which  an online tree age calculator suggests an age of 286 years - probably an underestimate because the girth of the trunk should have been measured  slightly higher up.

Anyway, the tree was too big to make a single image of so I've tried to stitch two together, not completely successfully but I think it gives an idea of the magnitude of this giant.

On a personal note, my earliest education took place under a beech tree. As a very small child I used to walk with my father to a woodland he called sub tegmine fagi. With his classical education it came naturally to him to employ a line from Virgil's Eclogues meaning  "under the cover of a beech tree"  while I in my ignorance just took the name for granted, along with the Welsh ones. My father sat and smoked his pipe while I made houses for imaginary zoo animals from the flat stones that lay around, and practised writing the letters of the alphabet in spit on his wellies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.