Ordesa Onion

Today’s walk is called La Cebolla or onion in Spanish. Up the mountain behind the campsite for spectacular views over the Ordesa canyon. And from the summit I could see Monte Perdido peeking up above the rim, cloud swirling around it today. I saw almost no one all day - in fact met the same Spanish couple 3 times, then hilariously a 4th encounter when she walked past me on her way to the showers as I sat outside my van - we had a giggle.
I saw plenty of wildlife - picnic on the mountain top with vultures circling below me and a big flock of choughs passing through. Then as I set off down I heard the marmot alert whistle and looked across the hillside to see what appeared to be a large group of giant marmots scampering away. As I trained my binoculars on them the penny dropped - they were Sarrio, the local chamois. A couple of dozen and a delight to watch.
Extra pics flower of the day carline thistle is attractive to bees....and an amazing fungus growing on a dead tree trunk across the path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.