La vida de Annie

By Annie

Another thing I can't do anymore...

...is play the piano, which was always a great source of escapism. Used to bash hell out of the poor old thing if I was stressed. I can still read music, and painstakingly translate it to instructions to each hand, but it is a massive feat of concentration and multitasking which is difficult now. I used to be able to learn a piece just by simple repetition - you build a "motor memory" in your hands - but that doesn't seem to work now, and each play-through is like the first time all over again. On the bright side it is giving my brain a massive workout, and who knows - eventually I may regain some fluency. Except for the frustration and anger at my clumsiness, it is still quite pleasureable and relaxing. Best if no-one listens though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.