SilverImages

By SilverImages

Pontypool and Blaenafon Railway

"“Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”  Mary Oliver

Words that came to me from Radio 4 as I headed out for the day. It's a day for "research", photographing the traces of the old that survive in the modern landscape. I began at the British Iron Works, above Abersychan on the top road to Blaenafon, under the huge old railway arch. The colliery buildings were derelict on the 1922 OS map, some fenced off remains still exist stand and I can remember there was a coal level when I visited here in the 1970's. I followed the road on to Talywain to find the old railway viaduct, now part of the cycle path network. Another massive Victorian engineering feat in stone giving elevated views down the valley towards Abersychan. Continuing across the top there are colliery spoil heaps above Varteg, looking like they were only deposited yesterday, glistening in the sunshine. A quick call to S and my coffee stop in Blaenafon is arranged for a fascinating hour catch-up; that's when I heard the steam train whistle blow. Unknown to me there's an event at the Blaenafon Railway, so that's the next stop. I arrive in time to see a steam train coming up from Big Pit direction, and a very helpful local photographer shares his railway timetable and local knowledge to give me a vantage point for today's blip as the sun begins its' downward trajectory in the afternoon. Still time for a trip across to Brynmawr to get a snap of the shell of the old Semtex (Dunlop that is) factory on the outskirts of town. A few local youngsters are interested in my photographing it, offering to move branches out of the way to give me a clear shot for my photos. Final stop for the day is between Tredegar and Ebbw Vale, to photograph the Aneurin Bevin memorial stones overlooking the valley. Plenty of raw material to process over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.