Near Essex Bridge

A quiet Sunday morning, but this stretch of the Trent and Mersey Canal is full of life and there’s so much to see.

A gentle half hour with binoculars on Essex Bridge was restful, but the kingfisher didn’t even oblige with a fly past. Apparently the local pair had been close by yesterday evening, but no sign today.

My friend who came to stay a couple of weeks ago said how much she’d enjoyed her walk along the canal. She walks faster than me and I’d stayed on Essex Bridge, but today I wanted to see what I’d missed.

She was right. It’s a beautiful stretch of towpath, with rich colours and lovely views across the Shugborough Estate.

Lively, interesting locals, plus a few canal barge visitors.

A lovely way to spend a quiet time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.