Excitement

So the power went off at about 21:10 last night. It didn't go straight out, there was a bit of a brown-out first and then some flickery flickering before darkness settled like a large woolly blanket. It only took a moment to check that neighbours were also without juice - I looked to see if their wifi routers had go off-line. Quickly found a torch and lit some candles and looked at the UK Power Network site to see if they had it yet but they didn't so I used their web page to report it. No sign of it coming back so I decided to head for bed, it was about 21:30 so not that early for me. Mobile rang at about 22:30, when I was nicely dozing, and it was UK Power to check that I was okay and still without power. Something had tripped somewhere and about 180 houses were affected.

I think it came back at about 04:30 because at 05:00 the clicking and spluttering of bits of kit woke me up; it meant I could have the cup of tea that I'd wanted last night.

Having had so much excitement last night I'd done some domestics today and enjoyed the sun. I might have started marking but that will be around for a while and the weather might not be as kind again this year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.