Dug In

Golf this morning with definite signs of winter; freezing cold and the first geese flying south. I don't blame them.
Then back to the allotment and a decision on where to plant the new gooseberry bush. Decided to go with S's suggestion and attacked a spot against the fence and next to the fig tree. A bit of hard work was needed to dig out all the couch grass and ground elder (or as much as I could find) and to replant all the displaced bulbs but hopefully the bush will be happy enough and decide to be fruitful. According to my Allotment Handbook (usually a handy little number) I should prune it hard in winter and cut back new growth in summer. So autumn is maybe not such a good time to be moving and pruning it but too late now!
Have made a list of 'things to do' in the allotment; that'll keep me busy for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.